Neiphiu Rio sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Nagaland

Posted: March 7, 2013 in Current affairs

Neiphiu Rio

Neiphiu Rio 63, of Naga People’s Front (NPF) party was sworn in as Chief Minister of Nagaland for the third straight term on 5 March 2013 along with 11 ministers by the Governor Nikhil Kumar at the Raj Bhavan in Kohima. 

The other eleven ministers who had taken oath for the office were from his own party, the Naga People’s Front (NPF), which had won 38 seats in the 60-member house. 

The Naga People’s Front (NPF), is supported by two alliance partners, BJP and JD(U) with one MLA each, also with an unconditional support of 7 Independents. 

The other 11 ministers who took oath are, Noke Konyak, T. R. Zeliang, G. Kaito Aye, Imkong L. Imchen, Kuzholuzo Nienu, Kiyaneilie Peseyie, Yanthungo Patton, C M Chang, E E Pangteang, S Pangyuh Phom and R Merentoshi Jamir. 

Neiphiu  Rio is the only leader to have led the regional party to victory in the assembly elections for the third time in the 50-year history of Nagaland statehood. Neiphiu Rio was Chief Minister from 6 March 2003 to 3 January 2008, and has been Chief Minister again since 12 March 2008.

Rio was dismissed as Chief Minister when President’s Rule was imposed on Nagaland on 3 January 2008. His party emerged as the single largest party in the ensuing elections and Rio, as the leader of DAN, was invited by the state Governor to form the government on 12 March, 2008.


Comments are closed.